I work for LensCrafters and learned about trivex via trade magazines and opticians in Florida when I sat for the board this year.

Do any of the chains sell trivex?

What is the average retail of trivex?

Does it require different equipment versus poly or plastic?

Is it gaining market share?

Does anyone know if Luxottica is considering buying the product?

ANd if so, does the manufacturer have the capacity to meet the demand for production a company like Luxottica/LensCrafters would create?

E.C.C.A. is in the process of introducing trivex. It costs a lot more that poly and is processed like poly. You may need to make some minor changes in equipment depending on what you use.

I think Luxottica would have to buy their own lens company too support their needs :hysterical:

I work as an Optician for a College of Optometry. We have been using Trivex material for several years now. The optics are great with an ABBE value of 43 versus Poly's ABBE of 31. It is greatly superior to Poly. The price has also come down quite a bit than when it was first introduced. We only charge $15.00 more for Trivex than we do for CR-39 or Poly.

I don't forsee LC having Trivex anytime soon and I don't know why with all the drillmounts we have in store I would think it would make perfect sense to offer it as an option. It would only make money for them because they get to charge more . Maybe they are worried that it would impact their breakage protection plan rates because Trivex doesn't start to crack like a poly would for a drillmount. Does anyone know what kind of success ECCA is having with it?

Has OSHA or ANSI rated Trivex yet? If not, I would not think anyone would want to take on the liabilities of dispensing it. I do agree that it should replace Poly because of its ABBE value alone.

Has OSHA or ANSI rated Trivex yet? If not, I would not think anyone would want to take on the liabilities of dispensing it. I do agree that it should replace Poly because of its ABBE value alone.