Sign in to follow this  
Acktoria

School or Apprentice

I guess this question is for experienced Opticians. In the U.S. is it better to be schooled or apprentice to become an optician. I have about 5 years experience in South America and it is probably useless in the states. I want to relocate to Florida and I dont know if i should go to school or apprentice to be eligible for a license.

I guess this question is for experienced Opticians. In the U.S. is it better to be schooled or apprentice to become an optician. I have about 5 years experience in South America and it is probably useless in the states. I want to relocate to Florida and I dont know if i should go to school or apprentice to be eligible for a license.

As an optical student I like school, however, I am yet to see how much in the real world it will apply. FL is a licensed state. this discussion may help:

http://www.optiboard.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7204[/url]

This college, Hillsboro FL, is one of the 1st original Opticianry Schools of 3 (Erie community in Bflo, NY & my school Durham Tech in NC being the others).

http://www.hccfl.edu/depts/healthsci/opticianry/index.html

In my state, NC, the apprentice ship takes 3.5 yrs. & the A.A.S. of Opticianry two years. I would contact FL's licensing board & see if you can sit for the state board, and then go from there.

For me, not having any optical experience I felt "funny" about getting a brand new job & requesting their optician sponsor me for apprenticeship. For you, you would be an asset (w/ your previous experience), and this may not be as difficult. Money is always a factor, wish I was earning some! Good Luck and say HELLO to Florida for me! I use to live there and may again.

As an optical student I like school, however, I am yet to see how much in the real world it will apply. FL is a licensed state. this discussion may help: